Illinois Residents Click Here New Starter Package Available

West Virginia

What marijuana/cannabis businesses can you start in West Virginia?

Under the new regulations, enacted as of April 2017, West Virginia will be open for medical marijuana businesses. The only forms of medical cannabis allowed are pills, oils, gels, creams, ointments, tinctures, liquid and non-whole plant forms for administration through vaporization. The state will allow 10 grower permits (with up to two locations each), up to 10 processor permits, and no more than 30 dispensary permits, all of which will be regulated by the Bureau of Health.

As of right now, the state has not indicated when they will open the licensing period to would-be entrepreneurs. But they are putting all the details together for implementation, with licensing happening in 2019. 

What can you I right now?

To get ahead and be prepared for when the state will start licensing marijuana businesses, you should:

  • Get our Starter Package to insider details of everything you should be doing right now in anticipation of licensing being available. (Hint: Its a lot.) 

How To Open a Dispensary in West Virginia

The state will allow potential business owners to open a dispensary in West Virginia. Whether this is possible or not will hinge entirely on the city and/or county of choice, as the state allows the local municipalities to ban or place moratoriums on whether to license marijuana dispensaries for operation or not.

Applicants will pay $2,500 per dispensary application and registration fee of $10,000 for each location.
  1. There's a lot of details to have in place, as well as determine what your city and county will allow, so grab our Starter Package before doing anything else. 
  2. Setup your Marijuana Business Corporate Structure.
  3. Create your Marijuana Retail Business Plan
  4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your retail store and be completely legal and compliant.
  5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.
  6. Contract with cultivators and/or edible/extraction/infused products manufacturers to grow and produce marijuana products for you, if you don't want to do it yourself.

How To Grow/Cultivate Marijuana Legally in West Virginia

The situation is nearly identical to that of dispensaries. The city and county would need to allow you to be licensed before you can be allowed to cultivate for medical purposes. The only difference is that you will be contracting with dispensaries and product manufacturers to grow marijuana for them. Applicants will pay $5,000 for grower application and registration fee of $50,000.

    How To Start a Marijuana Infused Products or Marijuana Extractions Business In West Virginia

    These types of business are allowed where you will be contracting with dispensaries to provide your products to patients. The steps are similar to all the other businesses. Applicants will pay $5,000 for processor application and registration fee of $50,00.

          The latest marijuana industry news, laws, & frequently asked questions for West Virginia