Illinois Residents Click Here New Starter Package Available

Georgia

What marijuana/cannabis businesses can you start in Georgia?

Under the new regulations, enacted as of April 17, 2019, Georgia opened its doors for medical marijuana businesses. The regulations of this measure will allow up to six (6) private growers to cultivate medical cannabis preparations, along with two (2) designated universities. Patients will be allowed to obtain low-THC oil from licensed dispensaries or specially licensed pharmacies.

A seven-member Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission will be appointed to license and regulate medical cannabis producers, while The State Board of Pharmacy will develop a dispensing license for a pharmacy to dispense low-THC oil to patients (should any pharmacies elect to participate).

The Commission and the Board of Pharmacy will jointly adopt rules for dispensing low-THC oil from both pharmacies and retail dispensaries.

As of right now, the state has yet to establish an application process and the law does not specify when the licensing applications need to be made available for medical marijuana businesses. So you cannot apply for a medical business license right now, however, there’s a lot to do to prepare - see below for details.

Not sure Where or How to Begin?

You need to be taking care of a bunch of critical pieces right now in order to be ready for licensing. Grab our Starter Package for insider details about everything you should be doing at this very moment that no one will tell you about.

What can you do right now?

To get ahead and be prepared for when the state will start licensing marijuana businesses, you should:

    • Read through the regulations.
    • If you're unsure about what to do after reading the regulations, grab our Starter Package to give you a detailed rundown of everything you need to know and do right now to get your business going.
    • If you'll need investors or partners, put together a Business Plan, as they'll definitely ask to see one.

How to Grow/Cultivate Marijuana Legally in Georgia?

The state will allow potential business owners to open a production facility in Georgia. The following types of producers licenses will be available:

    • Two (2) Class 1 production licenses, which allow up to 100,000 square feet of space for indoor cultivation, and the production of low-THC oil.
    • Four (4) Class 2 production licenses, which allow up to 50,000 square feet of space for indoor cultivation, and the production of low-THC oil.

The fees associated with the applications are:

    • Class 1 - a $25,000 non-refundable application fee, along with an initial $200,000 licensing fee and $100,000 annual renewal fee;
    • Class 2 - a $5,000 non-refundable application fee, along with an initial $100,000 licensing fee and $50,000 annual renewal fee.

Here are the steps to guide you in setting up a production facility in Georgia.

  1. Read through our Starter Package to figure out what your city will require for licensing and the boatload of other to-do items to have in place prior to submitting your application for licensing.
  2. Setup your Marijuana Business Corporate Structure.
  3. Create your Marijuana Cultivation Business Plan.
  4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your retail store and be completely legal and compliant.
  5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.
  6. Contract with dispensaries and pharmacies to grow marijuana for them.

How to Open a Marijuana Dispensary in Georgia?

Same with Grow Facility steps, the only difference is that you will be contracting with growers to provide your products to patients.

The lates marijuana industry news, laws, & frequently asked questions for Georgia.