Florida Entrepreneurs - Click here first! Arkansans - Click here California Entrepreneurs - Click here

Rhode Island

What marijuana/cannabis businesses can you start in Rhode Island?

Under the emergency regulations, enacted as of October 25, 2016, Rhode Island will be accepting applications for Medical Marijuana Cultivation businesses until April 30, 2017.

Pursuant to the Act (R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-2.10), the Department of Business Regulations (DBR) will be responsible for licensing would be entrepreneurs.

There will be a $5,000 non-refundable fee at the time of application. Then, the initial license fee ranges from $20,000 to $80,000 depending on the class of license issued.

License Class

Annual License Fee

Class A

$20,000.00

Class B

$35,000.00

Class C

$50,000.00

Class D

$80,000.00

    Historically, Rhode Island had a medical marijuana program that allowed three (3) compassion centers (a.k.a. dispensaries) to operate in the state. But as of right now, the state has not indicated when they will open again for dispensary applications.

    What can I do right now?

    To get ahead and be prepared for cultivation license application, you should:

      • Read through the regulations and understand the business requirements.
        • Get our free starter package to give you a general overview of what to expect when the state starts licensing marijuana business.
          • If you'll be seeking financing and investors or partners, you'll need a business plan to present to them. See our Marijuana Business Plans for Rhode Island page for details and get a business plan to fit your needs.
            • If you're serious and want to determine what moves you can be making right now to get a leg up on the competition for licenses - get one of our marijuana business consultation packages and let our expert Associates review your situation and instruct on the intelligent moves you could be making now to increase your chances of winning licenses.
              Governor Lincoln Chafee
              Governor Lincoln Chafee

              How To Grow/Cultivate Marijuana Legally in Rhode Island

              The state allows potential business owners to open a cultivation facility. Whether this is possible or not will hinge entirely on the city and/or county of choice, as the state allows the local municipalities to ban or place moratoriums on whether to license marijuana retailers for operation or not.

              1. Setup your Marijuana Business Corporate Structure.
              2. Create your Marijuana Retail Business Plan
              3. Determine your potential location(s) and investigate whether licensing is possible in the prospective cities or counties.
              4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your cultivation facility and be completely legal and compliant.
              5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.
              6. Contract with dispensaries, delivery services and/or edible/extraction/infused products manufacturers to grow marijuana for them.

              How To Open a Marijuana Dispensary in Rhode Island

              Same as Cultivation facility steps, the only difference is that you will be contracting with cultivators and/or edible/extraction/infused products manufacturers to grow and produce marijuana products for you, if you don't want to do it yourself.

              The latest marijuana industry news, laws, & frequently asked questions for Rhode Island.