Florida Entrepreneurs - Click here first! Arkansans - Click here California Entrepreneurs - Click here

Oregon

What marijuana/cannabis businesses can you start in Oregon?

On July 1, 2015, Measure 91 legalized the possession and cultivation of marijuana by adults 21 and older for recreational use. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission allows the below businesses to operate legally within the state. General requirements for all applicants should be at least 21 years of age and have passed a criminal record check for an excluded felony offense.

On March 7, 2016 Governor Brown signed a bill removing the 2 year residency requirements for marijuana dispensaries/retail store, cultivation, and manufacturing business. So now any person, foreign or citizen of Oregon, may apply to own and operate a mairjuana business within the state of Oregon. See below for the details about each business type you can own/operate.

How To Open a Dispensary in Oregon

The state allows potential business owners to open a dispensary or marijuana retail store in Oregon. Whether this is possible or not will hinge entirely on the city and/or county of choice, as the state allows the local municipalities to ban or place moratoriums on whether to license dispensaries for operation or not. 

There will be a $250 non-refundable fee at the time of application. Then, the initial license fee is $4,750.

  1. Create your dispensary business plan
  2. Determine your potential location(s) and investigate whether licensing is possible in the prospective cities or counties.
  3. Install your business infrastructure
  4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your dispensary and be completely legal and compliant.
  5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.

How To Grow/Cultivate Marijuana Legally in Oregon

The situation is nearly identical to that of dispensaries. The city and county would need to allow you to be licensed before you can be allowed to cultivate marijuana. The steps and initial application fee are also similar. But the license fee may vary depending on the canopy size limit: Tier I is $3,750, while Tier II is $5,750.

  1. Create your cultivation/growing business plan
  2. Determine your potential location(s) and investigate whether licensing is possible in the prospective cities or counties.
  3. Install your business infrastructure. Basically, you need to form your company so your cultivation facility can operate legally.
  4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your growing facility and be completely legal and compliant.
  5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.

How To Start a Marijuana Edibles, Marijuana Infused Products or Marijuana Extractions Business In Oregon

These types of business are allowed just like dispensaries and cultivation. Just the same, there will be an application fee of $250 and $4,750 license fee. The steps are similar to all the other businesses.

  1. Create your marijuana edibles/extractions/infused products business plan
  2. Determine your potential location(s) and investigate whether licensing is possible in the prospective cities or counties.
  3. Install your business infrastructure
  4. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your facility and be legally compliant.
  5. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.

The latest marijuana industry news, laws, & frequently asked questions for Oregon.