Florida Entrepreneurs - Click here first! Arkansans - Click here California Entrepreneurs - Click here

Nevada

What marijuana/cannabis businesses can you start in Nevada?

Under the new regulations, enacted as of November 8, 2016, Nevada will be open for recreational marijuana businesses.

The regulations of this measure, which will become effective January 1, 2017, have provisions for:

    • Retail marijuana stores
    • Marijuana product manufacturers
    • Marijuana cultivators
    • Marijuana testing facilities
    • Marijuana distributors

As of right now, the state has not indicated when they will open the licensing period to would-be entrepreneurs but they are required to establish the rules and licensing procedures by January 1, 2018. Also, under the new law, only businesses that already have medical marijuana certificates will be allowed to apply for recreational licenses for the first 18 months the program is open. So the earliest you can apply, if you're not currently in the medical side, is June, 2019. 

What can I do right now?

To get ahead and be prepared for when the state will start licensing marijuana businesses, you should:

  • Read through the regulations and determine what business type you'd like to have.
  • Get our free starter package to give you a general overview of what to expect when the state starts licensing marijuana businesses.
  • If you'll be seeking financing and investors or partners, you'll need a business plan to present to them. See our Marijuana Business Plans for Nevada page for details and get a business plan to fit your needs.
  • If you're serious and want to determine what moves you can be making right now to get a leg up on the competition for licenses - get one of our marijuana business consultation packages and let our expert Associates review your situation and instruct on the intelligent moves you could be making now to increase your chances of winning licenses.

How to Open a Marijuana Retail Store in Nevada?

The state allows marijuana retail store to open in Nevada. Whether this is possible or not will hinge entirely on the city and/or county of choice as the state allows the local municipalities to ban or place moratoriums on whether to license dispensaries for operation or not. 

The fees associated with the applications are as follows:

    • Application fee $5,000
    • License for retail marijuana store - $20,000
    1. Setup your Marijuana Business Corporate Structure.
      1. Create your Marijuana Retail Business Plan
        1. Determine your potential location(s) and investigate whether licensing is possible in the prospective cities or counties.
          1. Acquire the necessary licenses to operate your retail store and be completely legal and compliant.
            1. Install the operational infrastructure to be in accordance with all regulations and then open your doors for business.
              1. Contract with cultivators and/or edible/extraction/infused products manufacturers to grow and produce marijuana products for you, if you don't want to do it yourself.

                How To Grow/Cultivate Marijuana Legally in Nevada

                Same as Retail Store steps, the only difference is that you will be contracting with dispensaries, delivery services and/or edible/extraction/infused products manufacturers to grow marijuana for them.

                The fees associated with the applications are as follows:

                  • Application fee $5,000
                  • License for marijuana cultivator - $30,000

                    How To Start a Marijuana Edibles, Marijuana Infused Products or Marijuana Extractions Business In Massachusetts

                    Same as Retail Store steps, the only difference is that you will be contracting with dispensaries and delivery services to provide your products to customers as well as contract with cultivators to grow marijuana for you, if you don't want to do it yourself.

                    The fees associated with the applications are as follows:

                      • Application fee $5,000
                      • License for marijuana product manufacturer - $10,000

                      The latest marijuana industry news, laws, & frequently asked questions for Nevada.