The Arizona Department of Health Services just announced that it will be open to medical marijuana business applications this summer! They will allow the below businesses to operate legally within the state. General requirements for all applicants should be at least 21 years of age and have passed a criminal record check for an excluded felony offense.
There are currently no recreational marijuana regulations in place, so every business will be solely on the medical side, requiring patients to be recommended by a physician for medical marijuana consumption.
This summer, the state will allow potential business owners to open a medical marijuana dispensary in Arizona. Whether this is possible or not will hinge entirely on the city and/or county of choice, as the state allows the local municipalities to ban or place moratoriums on whether to license dispensaries for operation or not.
Application fee for a dispensary is $5000. But the state also requires proof that the entity or a principal officer of the entity has $150,000 (one hundred fifty thousand dollars) in an in-state or out-of-state financial institution. The documentation must be dated within 30 days before the application and show that the entity or principal officer had control of the monies for at least 30 days before the application was submitted.
The situation is nearly identical to that of dispensaries. The city and county would need to allow you to be licensed before you can be allowed to cultivate for medical purposes. However, you would be required to own/operate a dispensary in order to cultivate medical cannabis but the steps will be similar:
These types of business are allowed but just like cultivation you will be required to own/operate a dispensary in order to sell marijuna extracts/concentrates, marijuana edibles and infused products. The steps are similar to all the other businesses.